Nathan Schneider

My Five Favorite Reads of 2014

1 Comment

I’ve read some great reads this year. This is a list of my five favorite.

The Power of Habit / Charles Duhigg / Personal Growth

This was one of the most helpful books I’ve ever read. Duhigg argues that much of what we do in any given day is actually done as a habit. So, change your habits and you’ll change your life. Read this book to recognize your habits and to put together a game plan for personal growth.

Broken-Down House/ Paul Tripp / Christian Living

Paul Tripp is my favorite author and I’ve attempted to read most of what he writes. He constantly finds ways to apply the gospel to the Christian. This book did not disappoint. It was encouraging, convicting, and helpful. It ends up being a synopsis of the Christian life.

What’s Best Next / Matt Perman / Productivity

Perman’s What’s Best Next is a book about productivity and time management written from a Christian perspective. He begins by showing that God does care about our productivity and as a result, so should we. Then, Perman discusses some of the ways to become more productive and what that looks like for Christian, whether that be in the workplace or in the home.

Simply Christian / N.T. Wright / Christian Theology

This is the second time I’ve read this book. I read it a couple of years ago and it had a huge impact on my life. Reading through a second time was no different. Wright, much like Tripp, writes in an easy-to-read manner. This particular book is an argument for the legitimacy of the Christian faith. He argues from such things as our need for justice. This is the closest book I’ve read to C. S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity.

True Spirituality / Francis Schaeffer / Christian Living

Finally, it was a toss up between this book and the other book I read this year by Schaeffer, He Is There and He Is Not Silent, which is written more in the category of Wright’s Simply Christian. The application was very simple.

Author: schneinm

I'm a follower of Jesus Christ!

One thought on “My Five Favorite Reads of 2014

  1. Pingback: Books I’ve Read in 2014 | 40:16

Leave a Reply

