Nathan Schneider

21 Day Challenge

5 Comments

21 one days is not a very long period of time, but apparently it’s the length of time one needs to form a habit. That being said, I’m going to be doing a 21 day challenge. The challenge won’t be too difficult, but it’s just something to keep me accountable and intentional in what I think are important areas of growth. So, here’s what I’ll be doing for the next 21 days:

  • First, during my quiet times I will add translating one verse of Scripture daily (from Greek). I’ve realized that I haven’t been using my Greek and I’m beginning to forget things. This is an attempt to always be growing in my knowledge of the biblical languages. I will be translating from Romans 5 (21 verses). This will also be an introduction to the NST (Nathan Schneider Translation =))
  • Secondly, I will work out every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning. I’ve always been active, but with school and work, my activity has dropped. There have been some people recently who have challenged me in this area and I’m excited to make it a habit again!
  • Thirdly, I will read one chapter a day from a non-school book. I love to read and I read a lot, but it’s usually not consistent reading. I’m usually reading for school and when I’m reading for pleasure it’s usually a couple of chapters one day and nothing for a few days after that. The point here is to establish a discipline of consistent reading.
  • Finally, I will blog everyday during this time. The posts will probably just be reflections on my quiet times and maybe a few other thoughts.

21 days, how hard could it be?

Paul said, “I discipline my body and bring it under strict control, so that after preaching to others, I myself will not be disqualified.” Thanks Paul! I’m going to follow your example.

Author: schneinm

I'm a follower of Jesus Christ!

5 thoughts on “21 Day Challenge

  1. Awesome challenge! I’m sure the Lord will bless you through it.

    You might be interested in checking out this website by Ryan Richie. He’s got some good things to say on self-taught greek and keeping it up and so forth.

    http://ntgreekstudies.weebly.com/

    I’ll be interested in seeing what you post in the days ahead.

  2. Thanks for raising the bar, Nathan.

    Will you be publishing the NST?

  3. Thanks for the website suggestion, John. I will be sure to check it out!

    Dr. Black, I’ll be posting what I translate, but I don’t know if 3 semesters of Greek qualifies me for much more than that =). Who knows… maybe one day! Any suggestions for resources while I work through Romans 5 (I figure I will try to translate a smaller epistle after this)?

  4. Try sticking with the Greek text and a good lexicon and see what happens. Should be fun! If you can, post the results of your work on a daily basis. This will both keep you accountable and allow the rest of us to enjoy the process!

  5. Will do and done!

Leave a Reply

